Another Sleep(less) Over

I’m beginning to believe I am my own worst enemy. This past Friday night my daughter held her belated 14th birthday party. She invited 3 girlfriends to “sleep over”, I use that term loosely since there was little to no sleep happening, to help her celebrate.

All the guests arrived by 6 pm. Pizza was ordered. Even a small cheese pizza for her one friend, M., who has chosen the path of vegetarianism (I had meat pizza. What can I say, I’m sucker for real bacon.) The girls laughed, ate, played Truth or Dare and watched movies. After chocolate cake and presents (she got a gift card to EB Games, Squinkies and homemade bath salts – pretty nice loot) the girls played Dance 2 on the Wii.

My son and I were avoiding the overwhelming amounts of teenage estrogen by hiding camping out in my room and watching cop shows on my laptop. We’re especially fond of NCIS. I heard some kerfuffle in the bathroom and then Rian came into my room and asked for “a bowl to wash their feet” – they were giving each other mani/pedis. I found the basin, gave the girls the nail polish remover and begged them to be careful. They assured me everything would be fine.

When NCIS was over Alexi and I watched The Mentalist then I went back out to check on the girls. My living room looked like Ardene exploded in it. The floor was littered with a myriad of nail polish bottles in a rainbow of colours. There were towels, blankets, hair scrunchies, head bands, socks and moisturizers scattered amidst the pillows, DVD cases and board games. The girls were having a great time. I could tell by the mess.

At 2:30 am I checked on them again. M. had lost the fight to stay awake and was curled up on one end of the sofa in peaceful oblivion. I envied her ability to sleep admid the chaos. The other three girls were still awake watching 13 going on 30 through half-open eyelids. I bid them good night and told them not to wake me before 10 am. (in hindsight I should have noon)

The next day they played games, giggled (it was a giggle-fest) and tidied up. Ok, I’m exaggerating on the tidying up. The main thing was all four girls had a good time and I would let them have another slumber party here without it being a special occasion. Maybe next time I’ll join them. (I really am insane!!)

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, children's mental health, friendship, parenting, sleep over. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Sleep(less) Over

  1. Susan A says:

    “my livingroom looked like Ardene exploded in it” — Holly, you DO have a way with words! — made me chuckle, and brought back fond memories.

  2. Holly says:

    Thanks, Susan! I do try to paint a picture with words πŸ™‚
    Glad I could take you on a fond walk down memory lane.

  3. Hee, hee…I say if those girls LET you join them, then get on in there, Mom! Sounds like a total blast to me!! πŸ™‚

  4. Holly says:

    Absolutely!!! I think I’ll LET them have another party on the condition that I get a mani/pedi too πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

