The Thick and the Thin of It

I took Alexi for his regular check-up with the pediatrician today where he was measured and weighed. He’s 12 years old and stands about 5 feet tall (I thought he was taller, but I was just geuss-timating) and weighs in at 70lbs. When we were there just over a month ago he weighed 75lbs. So my little man is growing taller, but losing weight. I looked at the Body Mass Index chart and my son is grossly underweight.

Body Mass Index Chart

I feed him, honest I do!! There is always food in the cupboard and in the fridge. His problem is lack of appetite. ADHD medication is notorious for decreasing appetite in those who use it. Alexi is no exception. I send lunches – apples, granola bars (the chocolate covered ones even) and a bottle of Boost meal replacement as recommended by the doctor last time he was losing weight. You’ve heard the adage “you can lead a horse to water but you can’t make him drink’? Apparently the same is true of my son and lunch because his lunch bag comes home just as full as when it was packed in the morning.

Can you blame you for eating all of them? They are so yummy.

On the flip side of this dilemma I’ve gained weight! And believe you me, mamma ain’t happy about that!! For the first time in my life I am 5lbs overweight according to the Body Mass Index Chart. I’d like to blame it all on the anti-depressants, which are notorious for weight gain, but I can’t do that in good conscience. Especially since I ate an entire box of Leclerc butter cookies on Monday night. Butter cookies topped with real milk chocolate, mmm, chocolate. Every last delicious chocolatey-covered morsel found its way to my lips and every single one of a gazillion calories is going to find its way to my hips.

So what to do about the weight dilemma? I’m thinking the easiest solution would be for me to start taking ADHD medication and my son could start taking anti-depressants. Then I’d lose my appetite and he’d gain one! Problem solved. Of course, that’s not the healthiest or most practical solution. I know what I need to do for myself – stop buying Leclerc cookies (and chips, and ice cream, and ice tea…)! But I’m at a loss of what to do for my son, short of force-feeding him cookies, chips and fatty foods, I can’t make him eat. I’ll give it my best shot, but ultimately the decision is his.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in ADHD, anxiety, children's mental health, depression, GAD, parenting, single parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Thick and the Thin of It

  1. Cherie Chabot says:

    You made me both laugh and smile. I enjoyed reading your blog. I found the Body Mass Index very interesting. I have some work to do.

  2. Holly says:

    Thanks, Cherie for commenting!! I’m so glad to hear you’re enjoying the blog. Maybe we can keep each other accountable on the “work” front 😉

  3. First off, super cute new pic you have for your profile! As for the not eating part with your son, geez, I have no words of wisdom on that front. Maycee is just about 4′ and almost 60 lbs, right in the middle of the growth curve for her age, so I can see Alexi indeed needs to add a few. Just a question, the things you give him for lunch, I assume you’ve asked him what he likes to eat? On this issue, I’ve learned with Maycee (albeit, she’s much younger) that when I give her what I want her to eat only (as I’ve done before, like insisting she eats crusts, and then the entire sandwich comes home) most of the lunch returns, but when I fill her bag with foods I KNOW she will enjoy eating (like cutting off the crusts of the sandwich, thus proving success in eating it fully) I have better luck. As for eating an entire box of cookies-I relate, and I, too, love butter cookies immensely! No words of wisdom there either, except, yum (is that wise?)! 😉 XOXO

    • Holly says:

      Thanks Kasey, I’ve tried sending him food he likes. I even took him on shopping spree and let him pick out what he’d like to take in his lunch – all junk food of course. I told him he could take as much junk as he wanted as long as he drank the Boost. Well, you can imagine the junk food was eaten but the Boost came home unopened! Eating all the junk food irritated his stomach. It’s been horrible. I may have to break down and give him weekends off the meds just so he’ll eat at least two days a week. You may need to start praying for me on the weekends 😉

    • Holly says:

      Thanks too, about the pic. Believe it or not, I took it with my laptop camera.

  4. Jacki Welch says:

    I love your blogs. It is like you read my mind. Syd has issues with her weight also. She takes Concerta which does decrease the appetite so she hardly eats all day. At night she takes Seroqyl with is an Anti Psycotic and makes you hungry so then she can’t stop eating until bedtime. Unfortunately because of her eating so much right before bed she has gained quite a bit of weight. These medications are horrible for what they do as far as appetite but without them they wouldn’t be able to function. I don’t know what to suggest to you besides what you are doing. Maybe explain to him even though he doesn’t feel hungry his body still needs the nutrition. Have you tried smoothies or protein shakes. Maybe drinking something would be easier. By the way I love you Word Wednesdays. Take care and keep up the great blogs.

    • Holly says:

      Thanks, Jacki! Your encouragement means a lot to me. I’m sorry Syd is struggling with the opposite problem. That’s got to be tough especially at this age, girls can be so catty when it comes to appearance. I hope she’s not being bullied at school because of it. The medications are truly a mixed blessing. I think I’m going to start giving him weekends off the meds so he’ll at least eat for those two days, I don’t know if I’ll survive it though. 😉 Protein shakes are a great idea, I’ll ask the doctor about that next time we’re in. Thanks for the great idea!

  5. diane white says:

    hey Holly
    Alex had the same problem – entering grade nine at 14 he was a tiny 5’0″ and weighed 72 lbs soaking wet!! He also didn’t have much of an appetite and I remember being so concerned and the p-doc telling me he would graze as he needed to and certainly would not starve himself to death! Oh, for those days back – at almost 19 he is 6’2″ and, while still slim, is a healthy 135 lbs and is constantly grazing. He still does not eat enough of a meal (like dinner) to keep a bird alive but I have adjusted and just have alot of healthy (and sorta fattening!) snacks available for him.
    Sounds like you’re doing all you can – make sure he snacks after school and before dinner – and don’t worry about what/jow much he’s eating at mealtime…I do know how you feel!!
    /diane

  6. diane white says:

    Actually I meant snack after school and before bedtime – not dinner – duh!

    • Holly says:

      Thanks, Diane. I got some more snackie foods for him so hopefully that will help. We’ll see what the doc next month. I’ll keep you posted!!

Leave a Reply

