Spongebob and Writer’s Block

It’s Saturday. It’s after noon and the members of the Madhouse family are gathered in the living room playing on various handheld game devices and watching Spongebob SquarePants. Have you ever been subjected to Spongebob and his best friend Patrick Starfish? If you haven’t considered yourself blessed. I don’t think there’s ever been a more annoying, brain-numbing animated show ever. No wonder I can’t think or write. I swear my IQ drops every time the kids watch that show.

I’ve been having a great deal of difficulty with writer’s block the last couple of weeks. I get great ideas when I can’t write. Like when I’m driving. Or at the doctor’s office. Or half asleep. As soon as I sit down to the computer ~ POOF ~ they’re gone. My brain becomes a blank slate.

Maybe it’s lack of sleep. I’ve always had problems sleeping. My therapist and I have recently come to some interesting conclusions regarding my sleeping problems, but I’ll share those with you another time. I am rarely able to fall asleep before midnight. Last night was no exception. What was different was being awakened at 6:30 am on a Saturday to my son yelling “MOM! HELP!!” as he made the mad dash from his bedroom to the bathroom. I jumped out of bed and ran into the bathroom. My poor little man was terribly sick.

After cleaning him up and getting him settled on the couch I followed the trail of sick down the hallway and into his bedroom cleaning up as I went. I ripped the sheets off his bed. Threw the blankets in a laundry basket and spot-cleaned his bedroom floor. I checked on him one last time before crawling back into bed. I hadn’t been there but a few moments, just long enough to get warm, when my daughter hollered that I’d missed a spot. I asked her if she’d stepped in some and she said no, but the dog was covered in it.

It was true. Alexi loves to have the dog sleep with him at night. He finds it very comforting to have Jake with him through the night. The dog really helps calm Alexi’s anxieties. Unfortunately this morning poor Jake was in the line of fire. I got up again, cleaned off the dog’s ear and went back to bed.

When I got up an hour or so later the kids were playing video games and watching Spongebob. Spongebob, the bane of my intellectual pursuits. Yeah, I’m going to blame a cartoon for my lack of mental concentration. It couldn’t possibly be because of my mental health diagnoses or memory problems. Nope, it’s the annoying yellow sponge’s fault.

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spongebob and Writer’s Block

  1. kimreurink says:

    I recall hearing you once state your kids would never watch that drivel. Nice to know I’m not the only intelligent parent to break down and expose my lovely darlings to Sponge Bobs influence. I know what you mean about the IQ loss…

  2. Jonathan Taylor says:

    I think you underestimate the comedic genius of Mr. Squarepants.

    The best book on writer’s block is called “On Writer’s Block,” by Victoria Nelson. It is heavy on old-fashioned Freudian analysis, but has lots of interesting things to say about it. One idea is welcoming blocks as an purposeful silence.

  3. Holly says:

    I like Fairly Odd Parents, which really isn’t that much better I guess.

    I will look that book up at our local library. Thanks for the recommendation!

  4. Spongebob. Ug. Maycee loves him. My MOM loves him. My boyfriend…yes…he loves him. Me-I’m the Fairly Odd Parent when it comes to my opinion, so I just roll with it. Gotta pick your battles, right? 🙂 Fun post, and hang in there…

Leave a Reply

