Good News and Bad News

C is for cookie, that's good enough for me

Today is a Good News/Bad News kinda day. The first bit of Good News – it’s Rian’s birthday!! She officially turns 14 around 5:30 pm this evening. She has requested Spicer’s doughnuts and cookies rather than cake and has declared this evening a no Laptop/PSP/DS/3Ds or computer time. She wants us all to play on the Wii – as a family. She’s so cute.

The Bad News is laced with Good News. Alexi’s Big Brother, T., is going to have to step down (bad news) because he and his wife are expecting (good news). I’m a little disappointed for Alexi, but so happy for T. and his wife. They’re due in July so there’s lots to prepare and T. needs to focus on his family now. He’s been a great influence for Alexi over the past 3 or 4 years. T. really showed him that men can be consistent and can be depended on. I’m grateful that Alexi was blessed with that experience.

The problem I foresee is that Alexi has such a hard time with separation. I’m afraid this will be very difficult for him.I can see him talking baby talk and refusing to sleep his room again…but I think I would be much better off to focus on Rian’s birthday. And doughnuts….mmmmm, I love doughnuts.

mmmm, doughnts

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good News and Bad News

  1. Susan A says:

    Happy Birthday Rian!! Wonderful choice of activities (and food) to celebrate with your family — hope you always keep that sense of fun for all your birthdays to come.

  2. Rian says:

    Thank you so much, Susan and I hope you have a great year! – Rian

  3. Happy Birthday to Rian (a little belated, sorry)! And, good job, Mom, keeping the focus on the fun for the day! I hope that things transition smoothly for Alexi-separation is hard, especially when someone has come to mean so much. And, I also hope the “Wii” time was a blast! Cookies and doughnuts, perfect. Maycee chose brownies…”she’s just not that into cake”. LOL.

  4. Holly says:

    Thanks for the b-day wishes! I think she had a great day. We’ll be hosting her belated b-day slumber in a couple of weeks. She has her guest list planned (limited to 3) now we just have to confirm a day, pick the food and I need to sleep for a week before hand!! LOL

Leave a Reply

