The Art of Avoidance

I hope everyone had an enjoyable Christmas and a safe and Happy New Year. The holidays have gone by in a blur of food, friends, and fun at the Madhouse. Although I must admit I’ve been avoiding dealing with anything too intense over the holidays.

Here in the Madhouse we are experts at the Art of Avoidance. We have taken avoidance, my personal go-to Skunk Maneouvre, to a whole new level. We’re so good at it, we don’t even know we’re doing it.

My son, Alexi, has taken over the storage room and turned it into his “Man Cave”. He’ll spend hours down there, sitting on the cement floor, playing Wii or reading. At one point in time he had the floor covered in blankets and pillows. His own personal relaxation den.

Rian, my daughter, can sit on one end of the couch and completely ignore everyone and everything around her. She’ll play on her DS or iPod or read until the cows come home. (Which is a really long time considering we don’t have any cattle. It’s against city bylaws.)

But you know the Madhouse has reached the pinnacle of Skunk Maneouvre-age (me and Dr. Seuss, creating whole new words for the next generation) when I am playing video games. That’s right folks, video games. I realized this morning that I have spent a good portion of the last 3 days playing Lego Harry Potter on Alexi’s PSP. I even looked up cheat codes!!

So this morning I relinquished the PSP to Alexi and set some goals. I needed to blog – check. Reply to some email – check. Pack up some dishes I’m giving to a friend. Take Alexi to the doctor. Clean up my bedroom – check. Figure out how to take video with my Cannon. And then, and only then, can I touch the PSP.

Of course, I’ll have to wait awhile at the doctor’s office and Harry Potter would help kill time….

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Art of Avoidance

  1. Ha! That is too funny, Holly! Maycee isn’t much into video games, although she does have her DSi, and we love to dance to the Wii. However, I have been known to sit my behind down in her room and “organize” her Barbies for her. 😉 It’s great to be a big kid sometimes (as long as we do our laundry, too).

  2. Holly says:

    It was fun! I’ve been to EBGames with the kids twice since and have been so tempted to buy Lego Harry Potter years 5 to 7. I’ve been strong though and I have held off. lol Rian has a dance game for the Wii too. We haven’t played it in ages! Thanks for the reminder, I think I’ll drag it out later today. 🙂

  3. Jonathan Taylor says:

    True at our house too: two laptops, desktop, Wii, iPod Touch, iPad, LeapPad, Kindle . . .

  4. Holly says:

    Johnathan, sounds like you have tech for all ages!! I wonder – when we did stop naming things and start calling things only by letters? When I talk to my kids it always sounds like we’re talking in code. I have to translate for my dad. lol

  5. Scott says:

    I am in the same boat with the games as you. My oldest son received Skyrim for Christmas and I have levelled higher than him. Pretty bad.

    How can I complain to the kids about thier use of video games, computers etc. when I’m sitting playing the games as well.

    The ultimatum was given to me tonight by my better half. Finish my chores before I start the game and be off by 9pm. I think my gaming days are going to be short lived.

  6. Holly says:

    LOL, Scott! I don’t know whether to feel sorry for you or congratulate your better half!!! Video games can be so addictive. The instant gratification when you get it right and the “one more time, I just need one more chance to beat this level” can hook just about anyone.

    I hope you were able to get your chores done in time to enjoy some game time. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Random Ramblings | survivingthemadhouse

Leave a Reply

