Listen to Our Hearts

Today I was gifted with the opportunity to listen to two other mothers who have kids with mental health issues. It was truly wonderful to hear their stories. To be allowed to share in their pain and in their  – it was truly a blessing. The greatest thing about listening to someone else, truly listening, is that so little is actually required of me.

These mothers didn’t want me to give my opinion, they didn’t want me to solve their problems, they weren’t expecting me to take on their load. All they wanted me to do was to sit with them, maybe hold their hand, cry with them, and tell them “I understand”. In my world, that is a great day.

~ Chinese Proverb ~

 

 

About Holly

I hope you're able to glean something from this blog, a nugget of wisdom, a new perspective, a smile or even a laugh. I enjoy getting feedback so please comment, share your story with me too. After all, we're here to help each other.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

